Posted by: Mandy | October 24, 2009

Change of Plans

I’ve made a change in my plans. While this seems sudden, I can assure you I have been contemplating this decision for some time. I have booked a flight home on the 29th of October(I have a stopover in Fiji which is cool, except that I won’t be able to leave the airport).

I’ve had an amazing time in Australia and I’ve met people who have changed my life for the better. But Sydney has become like any other big city to me. I’m tired of job hunting day in and day out only to be rejected from jobs that I am more than capable of doing because I am a backpacker. I’m sure I could find work here eventually, I just don’t feel like this is really what I want to be doing now.

I also am sitting here while my hard earned money is being sucked up by rent and the expenses of living in a city. I worked hard for that money picking countless zucchinis 😛 and I want to do something I enjoy with it. Right now, I would like to go to England and I have the money to do it if I don’t stay here.

So that is my plan now. I will be going home, going to Marquette so I can see everyone there before graduation in December, and then I plan on going to England before or after Christmas sometime.

Sydney 012

This has been an amazing trip and I want to thank everyone who has made my time here so great (especially Claire!).  I’m going to miss it and it will be sad to leave, but ultimately this is what I want to do right now.

Good times in Sydney :)

Good times in Sydney 🙂


Responses

  1. Awww. I’ll miss your stories though :P.

    England is amazing! You’ll have a fantastic time there. You should go to Tintagel if your around Cornwell. Prob the most magical place ever.

    I hope I get a chance to hang out with you when you’re in MN!

    • I better see you when I’m back home! I’m excited to see England, should be good 🙂

  2. Knowing what you want and what is good for you and acting on those decisions is a smart move. Claire has had a much better experience these past few months because you were with her and the two of you make a good team.

    I will miss your blogs from Australia. Please keep writing from Marquette and England.

    Robin

  3. Hi Mandy! We’ll be waiting to see you – Glad you’re coming home.
    Love ya!
    Grandma & Grandpa


Leave a comment

Categories