Posted by: Mandy | August 24, 2009

Mon Repos

Yesterday, the hostel drove us out to one of the beaches here.  We went to Mon Repos, this is the beach where the loggerhead turtles go to lay eggs in November.  The weather was gorgeous and it was so awesome to be able to swim in the ocean.

The Beach

The guys played rugby for awhile, until too many people were bleeding I think…Apparently wet sand is not the best place to play a contact sport.

It was nice to have a relaxing Sunday, Claire and I had stayed in the night before so we were also able to enjoy our Sunday hangover free, haha.

The zucchini farm cut some of the crew about a week or so ago, luckily Paul kept Claire and I on.  There was just less work to be done so they didn’t need as many backpackers.  The work has been steady though, we just haven’t had as many 8 hour days, which isn’t entirely a bad thing.

Responses

  1. Enjoyed your pictures. Thank you! Sounds like you are doing well. I know your Mom and Dad miss you but are glad you are doing well and we all appreciate your blog.

    We are getting ready for Brian, Jess and kids to come home. They will be here Thursday – we are very excited, to say the least.

    Just wanted to say “thanks” for the updates. You are doing a great job with that, Mandy! Take care. I’m praying for you for a safe journey. Enjoy!

    • Thanks Auntie Judy! I’m glad people are enjoying it 🙂 Give Brian and Jess a hug for me!

  2. I am so loving your blog. I squeed when I got to see your pantry! I was wondering if you could share some Australian slang with us?

    • I’m trying to think of some Australian slang, but for the hostel is filled with English so that’s mainly what I’ve been around, haha. Some random stuff off the top of my head, there’s “good on ya” for good for you or good job, they call chickens chooks (chalk that one up to working on a farm), esky for a cooler, they call McDonald’s mackers, and everyone says “no worries” a lot 🙂

  3. i want close ups of these boys playing contact sports 😛

    • Haha, I’ll remember that Alex. They walk around the hostel with their shirts off most of the time anyhow…fruit picking makes for nice arm muscles 🙂

      • um, if that’s the case, im REALLY ticked that you haven’t had a bio and portfolio of head shots and full bodies for each one posted for me yet…

  4. also had you told me that i might have started begging sooner to be able to afford my ticket over there


Leave a Reply

Categories

