Posted by: Mandy | June 17, 2009

Looking For Work

I think Claire and I are doing pretty excellent at the job hunt.  We just got into Brisbane at 6am yesterday, interviewed at 2:30 in the afternoon.  Then got a callback for a second interview today.

I think the callback went well, but I’m not sure if the job is the kind we are looking for.  It’s a sales job based purely on commission which is never a good thing when you’re starting out.  Claire and I each went out with our respective sales rep this morning and got to observe them at work.  My sales rep, Neil had quite the heavy Irish accent, I’m just starting to understand Aussies and then get that thrown at me, haha.  He and another rep set up at the train station and tried to get people to sign up to donate to the Heart Research Institute, seems like tough work with a lot of rejection.

Tomorrow I have an interview at 10am so it will be another early day.  That interview is with a sports promotion place.  It’s kind of difficult to know what the job you’ve applied for entails because the companies are very vague in their descriptions.  I have another interview at 3:30 that afternoon too and I don’t even know the company’s name, but I do know where to find it!  Details, details…

Also since these blogs are more interesting with pictures, here’s one of Claire and I with two of our roommates from WakeUp!

Anna, me, Claire, and Sabrina at our hostel bar!

Anna, me, Claire, and Sabrina at our hostel bar!

And here’s one from the night we went out with Claire’s friend Rowan in Sydney.  Rowan brought along his friend Chris.  Right now it’s all work, but we did have some fun in Sydney!

Chris, Me, Claire, and Rowan in Sydney

Chris, Me, Claire, and Rowan in Sydney

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re getting some interviews – But
    I think you need a job with money guaranteed.
    I pray that you’ll find a REAL job! GOOD LUCK
    in your job search.
    With Love, Grandma & Grandpa


Leave a Reply

Categories

