Posted by: Mandy | June 11, 2009

Why I Am in Australia: Solo and Tim Tams

The bags finally arrived yesterday.  Unfortunately my bag apparently had a rougher time getting here than I did.

Thanks United!

Thanks United!

After the bags arrived, Claire and I went to the grocery store to pick up some food for the week.  I love Australian grocery stores, we picked up some basic staples, soup and pasta, but also had to get some Solo (lemon flavored pop that isn’t really comparable to anything in the States) and Tim Tams.  The cheese is also fun here because they don’t really have different varieties, it’s Tasty Cheese.

After shopping, Claire and I eventually made our way down to Circular Quay which is located at Sydney Harbor to see the Opera house.  We met Sabrina and Anna (who we finally found out is from Germany, we’re staying in quite the diverse hostel room).  The Opera house was gorgeous, it was lit up and changed color.  I tried taking some pictures, but my camera is not really equipped to handle lights at night.

Kind of blurry, but you get the idea

Kind of blurry, but you get the idea

After the Opera House we headed back to the hostel because they were having a free BBQ and we will take whatever free food we can get right now.  It was Sabrina’s last night so we all went down to the hostel bar and had an amazing time.  It was sad to have Sabrina leave this morning, but we promised to stay in touch on Facebook.

Me, Claire, Anna, and Sabrina at the harbor

Me, Claire, Anna, and Sabrina at the harbor

Today Claire and I went to the Greyhound station and bought bus tickets to Brisbane.  We were planning on taking the train, but the bus was quite a bit cheaper.  We will be leaving Monday at 1PM and arriving in Brisbane at 6AM the next day.  I’m not really ready to leave Sydney, but it’s time to buckle down and find a job I suppose.

Responses

  1. Yay! Luggage! WootWoot!They call the cheese Tasty cheese? Is it like processed cheese or what? Haha. How cool was it to stand next to the Opera house? I have read quite a bit about the construction of it on wiki. I am going to have to pull up a map of Australia to follow your travels. Are you looking for a specific job or will it be whatever job you can get? Hope things keep going well. Thank you so much for answering my questions.

    • Tasty cheese is a type of cheese. It’s not the processed plastic crap. It generally comes in blocks, but also comes in slices. Much nicer than processed cheese.

      Pengiunspam, you need to go to a different supermarket if all the have is tasty cheese. They need to seriously restock. Supermarket has brie, tasty, gouda, swiss, blue, gorgonzola, colby, feta, camembert, watsonia, chedder, haloumi, reblochon, morbiegoats, the processed crap and about six other types. If you want better cheese, look towards the top shelves or head to the deli section. Or head to a proper deli, and you can get chocolate cheese (can not remember what it’s called). Cause if all your getting is tasty cheese your really missing out.

      • Good to know! I’ll have to wait to find a job though before I can start buying fancy cheese though. My friend and I have been applying to jobs in Brisbane, we leave there Monday so hopefully we’ll hear back about something before then…

  2. yay, glad you finally got your bags.
    hope your stay in our fine country is a good one and it isn’t to cold for you, it will get colder real soon it seams we have just come into a cold snap just as you have arrived.
    and the cheese well we do have a few differant ones here tasty is just your run of the mill everyday sort of cheese LOL.
    well have lots of fun .
    anita.

    • It’s feels nice during the day when the sun is out, just a little chilly in the mornings and later in the evenings. We’re hoping to have warmer weather up north though 🙂

  3. I would just like to inform you that i pretty much hate you right now! I am soooo bored out of my mind it is ridiculous. I wanna do something fun too!!!

  4. Just so you know, the smallest coins are five cent pieces. Just smaller than the $2 coin. Different thickness and colour though.

    We think it’s pretty cold. I’m freezing at the moment. I think the temp was 12c today. Cold by our standards.

    Glad your bags made it.

    If you get to Melbourne, email me and I’ll take you for the best risotto and panacotta on the planet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

